Next Record

What do we know about Bruce Hornsby’s next record?

What do we know about Bruce Hornsby’s next record? Let’s sort through some of the chatter and confirmed rumours…

Photo: Jim Singleton
Photo: Jim Singleton

Entitled “Rehab Reunion”, it is released on  June 17 2016 and you can pre-order on Amazon here.

Bruce describes it as “a record of all the dulcimer music I’ve been writing for the last couple of years… a stripped down, folk-oriented dulcimer record”.

There is “not a lick” of piano on this, says Bruce, but some rock… citing Sonny Emory on drums as an example..

A Noisemakers record, guests include Mavis Staples and “maybe one or two others”.

Bruce says that he wrote four new songs from mid May to mid June of 2014 – three with Chip deMatteo and one (“Over the Rise”) on his own.

Most tracks were recorded in early September 2014 over a period of three and a half days.

There are possibly 8 new songs, with maybe a reworked Valley Road in addition. Songs include:

  • Rehab Reunion – possible title track, described as a straight country song. Written with Chip deMatteo.
  • M.I.A. In Miami – about quitting a job to head anonymously to Miami
  • Tropical Cashmere Sweater – written with Grateful Dead lyricist Robert Hunter
  • T.S.A. Man – about “the sensual experience of an airport security check”
  • Tipping – the mental and arithmetic challenges presented by tipping in a restaurant
  • Celestial Railroad – recorded with Mavis Staples. Described by Bruce as a funky gospel song, that he wrote for Mavis in 1992/3
  • Over the Rise – Bruce describes this as like an English folk song, with a “John Barleycorn” feel. Recently debuted live
  • Possibly Valley Road
  • One other!

Bruce has introduced other new songs to his live shows in the last couple of years. These are not thought to be part of the new record:

  • Life in the Psychotropics
  • Might As Well Be Me (written with Robert Hunter)
  • I’ll Take You There (also written with Hunter)

Do you have anything to add?

Further reading:



Related content

Pre-order Bruce Hornsby’s Rehab Reunion CD here!

Si Twining

“Live” Trail

Si Twining

Absolute Zero out now

Si Twining


Leave a Comment